1000 Guineas

The 1000 Guineas (aka 1000 Guineas Stakes) is a 1 mile Group One race, run on the flat. It’s for three year old fillies and is one of the British Classics, a group of 5 races steeped in history, that are seen as the height of achievement in flat racing (1000 Guineas, 2000 Guineas, Epsom Oaks, Epsom Derby, St Leger Stakes). It’s also one of the three races that form part of the fillies triple crown (1,000 Guineas Stakes, Epsom Oaks and St. Leger Stakes). Only a handful of fillies have ever won all three races.

The race takes place in late April or early May each year at Rowley Mile, Newmarket. It was first run in 1814, a few short years after the first 2000 Guineas took place. In less than 50 years it became the must watch and must win race for three year olds, and it’s a reputation that the race maintains to this very day. So much so that there are varients of the race all over the world, from the Irish 1000 Guineas, to the German 1000 Guineas and the Oka Sho in Japan.

The purse for the event is a sizeable £500,000, with almost £300,000 of that going to the winner. Many of racing’s big hitters have won the 1000 Guineas, in recent history the likes of the Aidan O’Brien trained Minding in 2016 and Bilesdon Brook in 2018. Unlike with some races, many of the records of this event such as top owner (4th Duke of Grafton) and jockey (George Fordham) go back 100+ years. This should be no suprise though considering the 1000 Guineas is over 200 years old!

Watch the Grand National!

Anyone with even a passing interest in horse racing (or not living under a rock!) will be aware that the Aintree Grand National 2021 is fast approaching. A little under a week away now, in gearing up to the event Katie Walsh has given Betway her take on women’s achievements in the race over the years – something that is certainly no stranger to her (she placed third with Seabass in the 2012 event).

This year will feature three women jockeys and so let’s see what they can do this time around. They’re up against it in 2021 mind you, as this year’s Grand National features one of the shortest prices favourites in a long time; the Jonjo O’Neill trained, Cloth Cap. At time of writing now just 7/2 with several bookmakers and so is certainly heavily favoured by punters. As we well know though, so much can happen over the 16 Grand National fences (14 of which are jumped twice) so it’s best to take nothing for granted. With Becher’s Brook and The Chair to deal with, only a fool would look at any horse in the race as a nailed on ‘sure thing’. On 10th April we can see for ourselves. ‘Place your bets now please!’



Champion Hurdle

The Champion Hurdle is a grade one national hunt event that takes place in Cheltenham in March of each year over a 2 miles and ½ furlong, 8 hurdle course. It’s part of the much anticipated four day Cheltenham Festival, taking place on day one of the festival, and has attracted a wealth of racing talent since its inaugural run in 1927.

As a, or possibly ‘the’, highly anticipated hurdling event of the season, the Champion Hurdle understandably has been won by some very big names, such as three time winners See You Then and Instabraq, as well as the talented Persian War. The purse for the Champion Hurdle is currently £400,000, so it’s come a long way from the 1927 race when the prize money was £365. The Nicky Henderson trained Buveur d’Air has impressed in the Champion Hurdle in recent years, winning both the 2017 and 2018 races.

Henderson is actually the leading trainer over the entire history of the race, with a total of seven wins to his name. As he works closely with J. P. McManus, it’s surely no surprise to hear that Mcmanus is the leading owner to date. Leading jockey honours are split between Ruby Walsh and 1950’s jockey Tim Molony, both on four wins a piece.



St Leger Stakes

The St Leger Stakes is a group one flat race held in Septemeber of every year at the Doncaster racecourse in the UK. The 6 furlongs 115 yards race attracts some of the best racing talent of the day, on account that it’s a race with a reputation that proceed it.

The first St Leger Stakes took place in 1776 and was won by an unnamed filly, who was named Allabaculia after the event. The race itself is devised by and named after army officer Anthony St Leger. It wasn’t long before the profile of the race increased, in part due to the 1880 Derby – St Leger double by a thoroughbred named Champion.

In the same way that this double drew interest, the St Leger also forms part of two triples, namely the triple crown. The triple crown consist of the 2000 Guineas, the Derby and the St Leger Stakes. Winners of the triple crown number just 15 since 1853 and include such lumunaries as Nijinsky. There is also a fillies triple crown, made up of the 1000 Guineas, The Oaks and 2000 Guineas.

Both of the triple crown combos are designed to highlight racing excellence. The fact that the St Leger Stakes is also part of the British Classics takes that a step further. No horse has yet won all five of these jewels in the crown of British racing (1000 Guineas, 2000 Guineas, Epsom Oaks, Epsom Stakes, St Leger Stakes).

In recent years the combo of jockey Ryan Moore and trainer Aidan O’Brien have had quite some success in the St Leger, winning in both 2017 on Capri and 2018 with Kew Gardens.

2000 Guineas

The 2000 Guineas Stakes is a group one flat race for three year old colts and fillies. It’s a much loved race drenched in tradition and is also one of the five British Classics, a group of races that have attracted the cream of the crop of the racing world for literally hundreds of years. The 2000 Guineas also forms part of the Triple Crown which consists of the 2000 Guineas, The Derby and the St Leger. The Triple Crown came to be as result of West Australian winning all three races way back in 1853. In fact, only 15 horses have ever won all three races.

The one mile 2000 Guineas takes place in either April or May of each year at Newmarket racecourse. The race was first run in 1809 (prior to the first 1000 Guineas) . It wasn’t long before it had established itself as a firm fixture in the racing calendar and a race that jockeys, trainers and owners alike all had their eye on. The number of 2000 Guineas clones around the world speaks to its influence on the world stage. From the Australian Guineas to the Poule d’Essai des Poulains it’s a worldwide affair.

There are trial races which can act as a path to the 2000 Guineas such as the Craven Stakes and Greenham Stakes, though for some it’s their first race of the season. The purse for the race is £500,000, with £280,000+ going to the winner, the identical payout as the 1000 Guineas.

Leading trainer of the 2000 Guineas is Aidan O’Brien with nine wins, and memorable winners of the event include Nijinsky in 1970 and the legendary Henry Cecil trained Frankel in 2011.